About CKRA

Debbie and Jacquie

Founded in 1991 by Deborah Dyer, RN, BSN and the late Jacqueline Smith, RN, BSN, CCRC, Central Kentucky Research Associates was Kentucky’s first independent clinical drug research facility. CKRA is also one of the few such facilities in the nation that is owned and operated by women who are not physicians.

CKRA has conducted over 500 Phase I, II, III, and IV clinical trials in the areas of Allergy, Cardiology, Dermatology, Endocrine/Metabolism, Gastroenterology, Infectious Diseases, Musculoskeletal, Neurology Pain Management, Pediatrics, Respiratory, Urology, and Women’s Health. Patients are recruited through the company’s extensive database and through advertising mediums such as television, radio, and print.

WBENC

WBENCThe Women’s Business Enterprise National Council (WBENC) is dedicated to advancing the success of certified women’s business enterprises, government agencies and corporate members in partnership with its affiliated women’s business organizations. Founded in 1997, WBENC is the nation’s leading advocate of women-owned businesses as suppliers to America’s corporations. It also is the largest third-party certifier of businesses owned and operated by women in the United States.

WBENC works to foster diversity in the world of commerce with programs and policies designed to expand opportunities and eliminate barriers in the marketplace for women business owners. WBENC works with representatives of corporations to encourage the utilization and expansion of supplier/vendor diversity programs.

CKRA is proud to be a Certified Women’s Business Enterprise.

Deborah Dyer, RN BSN

Our CEO

Deborah Dyer, RN BSN
Founder & CEO

Debbie has been actively involved in the clinical drug development process for the past 25 years. She graduated from Eastern Kentucky University in 1985 with a Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree and proceeded to work in nursing and clinical drug research at the Lexington Veterans Administration Medical Center and the University of Kentucky Medical Center. Her extensive nursing and research experience was focused in the areas of acute medicine and gastroenterology. In 1991, she became the CEO and Co-Founder of Central Kentucky Research Associates, Inc.

Principal Investigators

James L. Borders, M.D.
James L. Borders, M.D., F.A.C.P.
Principal Investigator- Internal Medicine
Board certified in Internal Medicine, Dr. Borders has served as the Principal Investigator for CKRA since 2005. Dr. Borders has been in private practice since 1982 and currently heads Drs. Borders and Associates, PSC, a large group practice of six physicians. The practice provides CKRA with a diversified pool of patients from which to recruit for trial participation. Dr. Borders has extensive trial experience in smoking cessation, insomnia, vaccines, fibromyalgia, obesity, gout, migraine headaches, and restless legs syndrome, as well as numerous other indications.

William H. Keller, M.D.
Principal Investigator – Gynecology
Dr. Keller is board certified in Obstetrics and Gynecology and has been practicing medicine since 1961.  In 2013, he joined CKRA as a principal investigator and is currently conducting an endometriosis trial.

John V. Borders, M.D., F.A.C.P.
Sub-Investigator – Internal Medicine
Dr. John Borders, brother of Dr. James Borders, has been board certified in internal medicine since 1982.  He has served as a sub-investigator for CKRA since 2006 while still maintaining his private practice at Drs. Borders and Associates.  Dr. Borders was selected as One of the Best Doctors in America for 2012 – 2013.

Central Kentucky Research Associates also has affiliations with many other well-qualified, board-certified investigators who are able to oversee a variety of different clinical research studies.

 

Administrative Staff

Ginger Arthur
Director of Operations and Finance
ginger@ckrainc.com
Denisha Henry, CMA
Regulatory Administrator
dhenry@ckrainc.com
Cathy Jett
Patient Retention Specialist
cjett@ckrainc.com
Marie Booker
Front Office Manager
mbooker@ckrainc.com
Tracy Hudson
Director of Business Development and Human Resources Director
thudson@ckrainc.com
Leigh Anne Campbell
Marketing and Patient Recruitment
lcampbell@ckrainc.com
Greta BonDurant
Director of Marketing and Patient Recruitment
gbondurant@ckrainc.com
Stephanie Gibson, CMA
Front Office Assistant
sgibson@ckrainc.com

Clinical Staff

Christina Riley, RN
Clinic Manager
criley@ckrainc.com
Vince Helm
Study Coordinator
vhelm@ckrainc.com
Kara Smith, CMA
Study Coordinator
ksmith@ckrainc.com
Crystal Reed, CMA
Study Coordinator
creed@ckrainc.com

Data and Lab Technicians

Allison Peoples
Quality Assurance
apeoples@ckrainc.com

Joy Soper, CMA
Data Management
jsoper@ckrainc.com
Renita Bennett
Data Management
rbennett@ckrainc.comAmy Palmer
Lab Tech
apalmer@ckrainc.com
April Smith
Lab Tech
asmith@ckrainc.com